Trestle Me This, Part II

Trains

I was able to get a little bit of work on my trestle project, I started by working on staining the timbers. I hadn’t found a stain for it but it occurred to me that the treated timbers are basically the same color as railroad ties. I happened to have a couple of tie colored paint markers so I painted them up.

Then I put the guard timbers on the track, the kit came with a piece of Micro Engineering flex track so this was as simple as cutting the plastic “timbers” to fit and gluing them down. I’m showing it here with my Walthers SW1 that will become ILSX320

WP_20140111_11_22_52_Pro

Next up I started putting the trestle bents on the stringers, I had trouble with them staying straight so I used a piece of bamboo to stabilize them.

WP_20140111_12_54_17_Pro

With all the trestle bents in place and the track across it, I won’t fasten the track down until it’s installed so it’s easier to align.

WP_20140111_13_23_29_Pro

Posed with the SW1

WP_20140111_13_23_16_Pro

Leave a Reply

