Book: How to Build Realistic Model Railroad Scenery

Trains

I picked up How to Build Realistic Model Railroad Scenery by Dave Frary recently (kind of for free since I had Amazon gift cards) and I certainly haven’t read all the way through it yet but I’m glad I did. My biggest reason for not buying modeling “how to” books or dvds is two-fold: 1) I can get all this information online for free, and 2) money I spend on these books or dvds is money I can’t spend on modeling supplies.

Now, technically one could argue #2 didn’t apply for this one because I used gift cards I’d earned from Bing Rewards but there is plenty of stuff I could have spent those gift cards on and in retrospect it still would have been a good use of modeling budget.

The number one point is more interesting for this discussion because there technically isn’t anything I’ve read so far in this book that I couldn’t find online. The composition of multiple techniques and pros and cons of each is not something you typically find online. Usually you find “this is what I did and it worked for me”, but Dave Frary goes more into different ways to do the same thing and what advantages/disadvantages there are and it’s cleared he’s tried them all and that’s why I have found it to be a good enough value to blow about it.

It will definitely be a great reference and I look forward to finishing it (it’s hard to finish it when my little Jacob sees me reading a book with “choo choos” on it and has to see it for himself). If you are like me and hesitant to buy this type of material this is definitely a book I can recommend. And if you don’t want to spend your own money you use Bing Rewards to earn gift cards like me!

Leave a Reply

