I made a turnout!!!!!!

Trains

And it even works!

WP_20150119_18_06_49_Pro

It’s not terribly pretty and the things are a little rough through the frog but I think it’s not too bad an effort for  the first try. I’m not sure if I’m actually going to use this one or just keep it for a reference on future builds. All I would need to do to use it is cut the gaps on either side of the frog and spike it in.

Having never used the full jig I’m fairly confident that it would make the process significantly easier, it takes some patience to get the points, guards, and frog to stay still in exactly the right place while you solder them into place but it’s definitely doable without.

Leave a Reply

