Weekend Update 3

Trains, Weekend Update

It’s been a busy week for me so I don’t have any modeling updates so this weekend update is just links to other blog posts that have caught my attention.

Track as Model – Ontario in HO Scale

I love the picture because it’s great track work and the spikes are so tiny. Hunter’s using Proto87 spikes and I’m definitely going to give them a try on a future project. I’m thinking at least a diorama and go with tie plates and joint bars as well.

Pipe Load and Stone Load – Port Rowan in 1:64

Trevor Marshall’s modeling is always amazing but these posts caught my attention because they are projects that have already been simmering in my brain just waiting for time and supplies. I particularly like the rip-rap load (in part because the prototype picture he found was DMIR) because my raging river mini module uses basically the same woodland scenics rock and the left overs would make a great load.

Urban Backdrop Transitions – Lance Mindheim

I’ve been following Lance’s work on his LAJ shelf layout because I’m using it as inspiration for a shelf layout of my own (except winter and snowy). This post has some good ideas for basically hiding or obscuring a road going into the backdrop and has definitely got me thinking how I want to handle it if I do at all.

Leave a Reply

