Weekend Update 13

Trains, Weekend Update

It feels like it’s been about 4 weeks since I last posted, in large part because it has been. Not much has happened since my last post either, other than the dust and pile of non-train items on my modules has deepened considerably as I really haven’t had the time to do anything.

I did, however, have an ops session at my friend Mike’s layout. This time I took pictures.  He models CNW in the Twin Cities just before the UP merger but last night some Missabe power was on loan (as I brought it with me).

WP_20151119_20_11_57_Pro_LI.jpg

DMIR 210 and EMDX 9003 in South Saint Paul yard (SSP)

 

EMDX 9003 is actually mine as well but has been running on Mike’s for a while. A combination of me not having anywhere to run it and leaving it behind at a previous operating session. As I was going to be switching East Minneapolis (the upper deck) and that involves a long steep grade the pair were consisted together.

WP_20151119_20_12_47_Pro_LI.jpg

Heading out on Main 1

WP_20151119_20_17_45_Pro_LI.jpg

Passing the 400 Club at West Mendota

WP_20151119_20_18_41_Pro_LI.jpg

Approaching the bridge (not sure what this area is called)

WP_20151119_20_18_49_Pro_LI.jpg

This is my last picture of the night, shortly after this my train went into a long behind the view block route to the upper deck and from there I was too busy switching to take any more pictures.

On the way back I encountered an odd sound coming from 9003 and discovered the fuel tank shell had come loose and was dragging along the track (which was an unexpected find). Overall it was a good and fun night at a great layout (my pictures really do not do it justice)

2 thoughts on “Weekend Update 13

    1. Short answer: Kind of

      Longer answer: Yes but generic enough that I could swap things out and conceivably model another railroad (like UP, BNSF, etc). Location is generic northern Minnesota like Duluth. One of my big modeling inspirations was from a large club layout that had Christmas open houses as a kid and they had built an ore dock and mine and the little maroon ore cars always stuck with me but ore docks and ore mines are HUGE even in 1:87th scale so I have to do more general freight which is a very small part of modern Missabe traffic (and why it’d be so easy for it to become UP, BNSF, CP, or CN).

Leave a Reply

