Tie plate coloring

Trains

I’ve been trying to figure out what color I wanted my tie plates to be on the speeder shed, I kind of want them to be a slightly different color from the rail and the ties so they stick out but still be subtle. I have a couple weathering paint pens with rust, tie, and rail colors. I started painting some rust to see but felt there was too much contrast, then I tried rail which I liked a lot better felt to uniform and dark.

On a whim I ran a light coat of the rust pen over the rail painted tie plates and liked the result:

WP_20160120_16_16_33_Pro_LI.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

