ScaleTrains Boxcar

Trains

Today I got the first of my pre-ordered ScaleTrains.com boxcar kits.

WP_20160122_18_30_14_Pro_LI.jpg

My favorite part of these kits (and I really hope they continue making kits) is the price, $14 for this nice little boxcar

WP_20160122_18_35_49_Pro_LI.jpg

WP_20160122_18_40_48_Pro_LI

Assembly was a breeze but there were a couple points that I particularly appreciated:

  1. Metal wheels, I hate having to go out and buy new wheels for the new car I bought so this is very nice
  2. The car weight is screwed into place so I know the glue won’t dry out and break loose on a derailment and flop around
  3. No magnetic warm thing on the coupler, saves me the trouble of cutting it off!
  4. The care fits perfectly in the box after assembly

WP_20160122_18_41_03_Pro_LI.jpg

These are small things but really (in my opinion) are nice touches that sometimes are missed on more expensive models and this is their lower end line, I can’t imagine how spectacular the rivet counter or even museum quality models are!

6 thoughts on “ScaleTrains Boxcar

    1. I ordered it direct from them at scaletrains.com, they are a very new company (I think mine was from the very first container of boxcars delivered from china) and I haven’t seen them offered anywhere else yet.

Leave a Reply

